Archive | 12:39 am

Re-reading Sense and Sensibility is motivating me for NaNoWriMo

20 Oct
Sense and Sensibility

Sense and Sensibility

In honor of Sense and Sensibility’s 200-year anniversary, I started reading my Norton Critical Edition this week. It’s amazing how each re-read of her novels speaks to me even more than the previous read. As I get older and experience more in relation to people and relationships, her words ring even clearer.

Each time, I always underline new favorite phrases and write new thoughts. My copy is all marked up, but that’s how I like it. You can’t tell as much in the photo.

I stopped at Volume I, Chapter IX, right after Willoughby picks Marianne up. I thought I would let that soak in a bit.

Plus, I figured it would help me to gear up for my National Novel Writing Month idea, which is a loose adaptation of S&S. Is anyone else writing NaNoWriMo? This will be my first year, and I’d love to connect with some of you. I’m excited to see what other new Jane Austen adaptations come from it!

Also, is anyone else reading Sense and Sensibility right now, whether or not it’s related to the anniversary? It would be fun to compare fresh notes with someone!

— On a side note, I’m still switching over the nameservers and theme for the site, so please forgive me for any clunky design or broken links. I have to use a temporary site name for the time being, but in about the next 48 hours, we’ll have a solid home at VicariouslyJaneAusten.com. I can’t wait, and I hope you’ll join me! I’ll update more in the coming days about the anticipated features, but I’m finding some plugins for a chat bar, discussion boards and an activity stream (essentially, I’m trying to integrate the best of the VJA network site without having to use their template). We’ll see how it goes!